TORC

Latest News

Budget 2012: A Modest Stimulus

by Izabela Turek on December 13th, 2011

Elements in last week’s budget geared to stimulating business activity are to be welcomed. Though relatively modest in scope, the extra tax reliefs to revive the property market, as well as, the R&D and business development incentives to assist exports, should prompt some badly needed investment.   These business-friendly proposals include: 1. Allowing first-time buyers in 2012 to get interest […]

Off The Shelf: 6 Of The Best

by Tom O'Connor on December 6th, 2011

In spite of the phenomenal growth of the internet, book sales continue to flourish – both in physical and e-book formats.  In the business category, books that integrate commercial & strategic learnings with some human interest angle are especially popular.  And, in this regard, 2011 has given us another bumper crop.  Fans of Apple, Microsoft, Google, […]

Which Brainstorming Apps?

by Tom O'Connor on December 5th, 2011

Michael Caine, in the original version of The Italian Job,  gives us one of the great movie endings of all time. As the curtain comes down on his attempts to salvage a bus-load of gold bullion, precariously perched atop an alpine cliff,  he turns to the audience with the tantalising words:  Hang on a minute, lads, […]